Car seats help keep babies and young children safe in your car. Under California law, children in cars must be secured in a car seat. Find out the safety laws for your child’s age here, as well as which car seat is best and where to get it installed for free.
Car seat safety is a top priority, and it begins with the first drive home from the hospital with your newborn baby. In fact, hospitals require that you have a car seat installed in your vehicle before leaving the hospital with your infant.
It’s important to choose the right car seat for your child. The 4 Steps for Kids guidelines help parents determine which car seat or booster seat is best for your child based on age and size. Click here for more info.
California state law requires children under two years of age to ride in a rear-facing car seat. The law also requires children to remain in a booster or car seat until they are 8 years old, or 4 feet 9 inches tall. Studies show that using booster seats significantly reduces the risk of injury for children 4 to 8 years old compared with seat belt use alone. Learn more about booster seats here.
QUICK TIP: Did you know that local community agencies (police stations, fire stations, etc.) have child passenger safety technicians who can help you with car seat installation and support? If you go to get help with your car seat, make sure you go to a certified car seat technician. Your local California Highway Patrol (CHP) can may be able to help.
To find out more about child car seat laws and where to find a child passenger safety technician, click here.